Skip to content

Summer’s end means leaving the lab with great memories

August 22, 2011

Week 10 August 8 – August 12, 2011

This week was the saddest week of the summer. It hit me that this program is really going to be over. Honestly, I was really sad as I had become really close friends with Abbie Ferrieri, Douglas Kenny, Guy Jackson, and the whole Positron Emission Tomography (PET) group. I had also developed a close relationship with my mentor, Dr. Rich Ferrieri. I used to be shy about asking him questions but by the end of the program, I had progressively become my true self, being outgoing and enthusiastic.

On Monday and Tuesday, Abbie and I did three more carbon-11 studies. After that, we caught up some data. I spend any free time working on making cue cards for my poster presentation. Wednesday and Thursday were the days when students showed their posters to the whole Brookhaven National Laboratory community. The students, including me, summarized the project that we worked on and answered questions about our work. The poster presentation was not the only event that we had on those days. We also had a guest speaker, President Murphy from ESF, who came to Brookhaven National Laboratory to speak to all the students. I was happy to see him along with Dr. Lee Newman who is my adviser at ESF. Both of those days were excellent!

On Friday, it was time for our goodbyes. Dr. Ferrieri threw a pizza party for all the students in the PET group. The pizza was delicious!

Overall, I will never forget the project I worked on and the people I worked with. The morning meetings will always be remembered for bringing a smile to my face. The laughs and the silly conversations with my co-workers will never be forgotten. Even though this program took my whole summer, I am glad that it did. This Brookhaven National Lab Science Undergraduate Laboratory Internship was not only time spent learning new science techniques; it was one of the greatest memories that I have for summer 2011 and beyond.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

